I’ve realised…. that I’m happy

Image

I’m going into week 4 of this Spring2 term, which means there’s only 3 weeks left until the (TWO WEEKS) Easter half term. Spring 1 was a difficult term for me, I don’t know why, but I was down, feeling dissatisfied with teaching and moral was very low at my work. Fast forward a month, and I don’t how or even when it happened, but one day I finished work and I was laughing- at goodness knows what- and I realised ‘I’m happy.’ I’m at work and I am actually happy. There is nothing to complain about, I don’t feel like I am drowning, the children even seem happy- and so am I! It feels amazing.

It goes to show that positivity breeds positivity. Before the start of the term, I kept telling everyone that i was excited for this term and really looking forward to it because we had a lot of fun stuff planned- World Book Day, Sports Relief, two school trips etc., and before I knew it, I really was looking forward to the weeks ahead. And this positive attitude rubbed off on the children- they became excited too.

I stopped moaning. I decided that when people said ‘alright?’ I would give them a huge smile and say ‘yes, are you?” Instead of my usual, ‘yeah, I’m so tried’ yawn. It really does make a difference.

So, we’ll see how long it lasts, but I’ve decided to stop moaning. Yes, we all know the negatives about being a teacher, we hear them every bloody time we switch the news on and there’s some teacher bashing headline. But I’m going to list my positives just to help me remember why I decided to go down this path just over a year again:

  • No two hrs are the same, let alone no two days! Where else can you work where you have not got a clue how the hour is going to go? We could be stuck at a desk typing in the same data for the same people, that we did the same time, in the same place at the same time last year.
  • The day zooms by. It really does, I am constantly looking at the clock thinking ‘go slower, go slower! I’ve not done my plenary yet!.’
  • Work colleagues really are some of the closest work colleagues that you can get. No one will understand you like them. And I am grateful for all the ace people that I work with in my school.
  • The pay isn’t that bad really, unlike a receptionist, there is pay progression- we will not be on the same NQT wage in 5 years time. You can actually see where you want to go.
  • The children- we are so lucky to get to work with little people all day and nurture them into future little human beings.
  • Paper work aside- the job is fun. I am a daily actor for the 10mins I read a Jacqueline Wilson books each day, I get to dress up, paint, make displays and sing songs each day.
  • The holidays! Yes, I do work, but I still get to have lie ins, rest and go shopping during the day when the rest of my friends are working in their 9-5s.

And honestly, I could go on. So for now, I’m going to pour a glass of wine and relax watching The voice. Knowing that I will go to bed tonight, looking forward to getting up for work tomorrow. What’s not to be happy about? 🙂

One thought on “I’ve realised…. that I’m happy

Leave a Reply

