HAPPY HALF TERM!

HALF TERM!!!!!!!

Never. Ever. In my life have i needed/ wanted/ dreamed about half term so badly. It’s been a looooooooooong 8 weeks in some respects, but in others it has zoomed by. Although I have to do all my Medium Term Planning, assessments for writing and maths and make a shed load of resources for next term- I am determined to relax and make the most of this precious week off.

I’ve already had a posh lunch with some more NQTs, I’m meeting another friend for coffee this afternoon and I’m out for dinner with another friend tomorrow. Then for the rest of the week I’m going to spend some quality time with the other half- seeing as I only had about 20mins of decent conversation with him each night this term. I’m looking forward to not feeling high bouts of stress at random times of the day, I’m looking forward to healing my voice, giving my immune system a chance to build up and more importantly SLEEP. That is the thing that I’m most looking forward to. 

How have I found this half term? Let’s get the bad things out of the way first.

  • It has been hard work. The PGCE can never prepare you for how hard it really is as an NQT. Having 28 children to prepare 4 sets of differentiated work, for each lesson, as well as marking them on time, doing all the paperwork that is just unnecessary to the job and keeping your sanity in tact is difficult. 
  • The lack of sleep. I am not a morning person and I am also not a person who can get by on six hours of sleep. 8 hrs at least is what I need. But there’s no chance of that when I have to set my alarm for 6.15am. This term I have been waking up tired dreaming of going to sleep.
  • You constantly feel like a rubbish teacher. No matter how well you plan lessons, you always feel as though the children aren’t learning; they are not progressing and you are a fraud teacher.
  • It is actually stressful. I’m not a stressful person, but even I have had times where I think- I could easily give this up tomorrow. You’ll be fine- but then next minute, you need to give in all your maths books to be scrutinised, your planning doesn’t match up and you need to mark books that haven’t been done for weeks.

But now onto the gooods-

  • It’s fun! Give me teaching over working in an office any day. Each day is different and you really do do fun things day in, day out. This term I have made cookies, painted portraits, gone on a school trip and had a whole lesson doing Gangnam Style. 
  • Time Flies: It’s the only job I know where you constantly look at the clock and think ‘No! Go slower!’ It literally zooms by, and so does the week. Once it comes to Wednesday, it’s a blink until the weekend. There is definitely no clock watching on this job.
  • Pay and holidays: I personally think teachers should be on double their salary- and that’s not an exaggeration, but the pay isn’t bad- it’s a stable job with a solid pay that will allow you to get a mortgage and enable you to go on a modest holiday a year. Plus, the holidays are great. The longest you’ll ever work is eight weeks- and contrary to belief, you can actually get a holiday if you choose too.

So I’ve made it to half term! I am looking forward to next term. I just need to have a meeting with the Deputy about my topic books from a book scrutiny a couple of week’s ago (oops!), but I reckon I’ll take it as a positive and learn from whatever I haven’t been doing the correct way so far. So for now- I shall relax, not think about work and have a LIE in everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

