A happy end to a stressful week.

Image

 

It’s weekend- I’ve had 10hrs sleep and I’ve woken up feeling refreshed! I am also pleased to say that I m back loving my job and really enjoyed the second part of the week. ‘Diary-gate’ was solved because luckily, some kind soul, had written in the school trip for me (thank you, thank you, thank you), so it turned out it was the headmistress who had not done her research, but she was really nice about it and said I’ve done really well with the organisation so far. Now I just need to get the children there and back safely!

Second, I had my first parent’s evening, which was a success. All the parents were lovely, there were a couple who I need to follow up things with (not getting on with others in class, referrals for speech therapy), but over all I really enjoyed it. 

I’ve realised this week that teaching is a roller-coaster of a job. On Monday, I was down, really down. I was looking for other jobs, I didn’t think I would be able to do this after this NQT year- more worryingly- I didn’t think I would want to. I came home tired, feeling depressed and wondering how I could have made such a bad mistake regarding this new career.

Fast forward 3 days, 3 days, and I’m back loving everything about my job. My TA was back and that was a fantastic help, the lessons I taught all went to plan and the children loved them, It was Friday before I knew it, the Headmistress was no longer annoyed with me and I realised that I get on well with all of the staff- I have never felt so comfortable in a staff room before.

So I do want to stay at this school, I do want to be an outstanding teacher and I do still remember why I got into this profession. 

And next week is the last week before half term! What is there not to smile about?! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A happy end to a stressful week.

  1. i know exactly what you mean… every now and then i go “What have I done?” and then the kids do something ridiculously talented and i love them again. and I also had my first parents meeting…. it was tiring to talk non stop to so many parents, but i was happy when many of them came up to me and told me their kids loved me as I am really helping them learn 😀

    • Aw, that’s great feedback from the parents. I felt like an X Factor judge giving the same cliches all night, ‘X is a lovely child.’ ‘X really is an asset to the class….’ Yes, in this job it can take just that one thing to make it feel like the worst or the best job in the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

