I thought teachers didn’t really get ‘holidays?’

It’s the famous six weeks holidays. My school broke up around two weeks ago and I have done nothing. Yes, I’ve looked at my class list, started making a few classroom displays, but as for ‘real’ work. I’ve done nothing. Today, I watched Day Break, 10mins of Jeremy Kyle (I couldn’t stomach anymore), and i’m still in my pjs watching This Morning. When I can be bothered to get dressed, I’m going to go to IKEA. And to be honest, I haven’t really got anything planned for the rest of the week.

Everyone told me that teacher’s don’t really get holidays. That I will be waking up at 7am and still doing tons of paper work. Maybe next year that will be the case, but for now I feel like I’m doing something wrong. Paper work wise, I only need to do medium term plans for numeracy and literacy. Granted, I haven’t got a clue about the literacy planning, I really haven’t got the slightest clue where to start. I did ask before the end of term, but everyone was so busy that the ‘I’ll get back to you/ email you’ still hasn’t happened. Maths, I think I can get done in a day, as we follow Abacus, so it is all there for you, I just need to put it on a proforma.

So yes, after my lazy week this week, (and once This Morning goes off air), I will be going into school for two- only two- full days. I don’t mind that. I really don’t, I’m actually looking forward to getting my classroom all decorated. And I just hope that next year I haven’t lost this non stressed/ relaxed state i’m in. 

I may be wrong, but I personally think that you can make your job/ life/ teaching more stressful than it needs to be. My friend who has fallen out of teaching always tells me ‘you never get a holiday. It’s awful.’ Last year, she lasted four weeks of the new term, then was off sick for 5 months due to stress. She said she had been into school every week to do work over the holidays and just felt exhausted before the start of term. What the hell was she doing going in every week?

I don’t know, maybe I’m naive, maybe I need to look at the future of teaching in a more realistic light. But I’m an optimist, my glass is always half full. So for now, I’m going to enjoy my six weeks holiday and feel excited for starting in September.

Leave a Reply

