Children and their germs (Warning: Don’t read this while eating)

So, a few weeks ago, I wrote a post about how I must be ‘stressed’ and this stress was showing in my body as eczema. Honestly I didn’t think I was stressed, well not that stressed. And it was awful. I was waking up in the middle of the night to scratch my arms and legs- my legs were bleeding and I’ve had to cover up my body my neck to ankle as the rash is disgusting.

Anyway, I decided to go to the doctor and get some eczema steroid cream. The doctor took one look at me and said;

Is this rash on your stomach?’

‘Yes.’

‘Does it itch more at night?’

‘Yes.’

‘Do you work with children?’

‘Er… yes…?’

‘I know what it is.’

He then got his magnifying glass out, checked over the rash. By this time, I’m getting worried.

‘Yep. Just what I thought. You’ve got scabies.’

‘WHAT?!’

So yep. I’ve got scabies. That normally STI, ‘dirty’ rash. Scabies. That highly contagious thing that is treated with cream that says ‘for the treatment of crab lice.’ I didn’t think scabies still exsisted in Yorkshire, i thought we had left all that behind in the 70s, but no, I have it. Or had it, hopefully. I’ve done the treatment and the itching is only now starting to subside. I will still itch for 2-4 weeks as the scabies mite’s poo slowly leaves my body and the dead eggs get pushed out. Ugh. Ew.

So top tips for avoiding scabies:

  • Don;t hold hands with the children. It’s passed from skin to skin contact. Teachers get it from holding hands.
  • Don’t sleep in your work clothes in your bed. (Pretty standard really, but some people come home and jump into bed for a nap).
  • Wash your hands/ use hand gel constantly.
  • To be on the safe side, wash your work clothes above 50degrees.

So, I’ll leave you with this lovely post before bed time. Now I’m going to go and sleep in tights (to stop me scratching in the night) and cutting my nails (to stop me doing damage to my arms).

Oh the life of a newly qualified teacher….

Leave a Reply

